Support American Whitewater! Palm Orbit Rand Shock Support American Whitewater!

[please login to make this ad block disappear]

Reviews written by Pamlico 140

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
 
Boats & Boards
Pamlico 140Pamlico 140   September 20, 2008
(Updated: September 20, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Design 
 
4.0
Perfomance 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Value / Money 
 
4.0

Old Town Otter review

About the reviewer I have been kayaking for 4 years. Own a Pamlico 140 Test environment Calm, Flat Review Overall, it was a nice compact kayak. .while it didnt track the greatest, it did make up for it in stability, and EXTREME ease of manuvering. This kayak is, without the doubt, the best manuverer I've ever paddled. When I turned it countinuosly, it really seemed to be turning on a dime. So while it might not track like its on rails, it turns with little effort, much less than my Pamlico 140, and is stable. I would not recomend this kayak for kayakers seeking a kayak to cover long distances, or multy day trips, but instead a kayak for more casual style excursions that dont cover long distances. It may also be appropriate for mild white water. Conclusion Good kayak for shorter trips.

Boats & Boards
Pamlico 140Pamlico 140   September 20, 2008
(Updated: September 20, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Design 
 
2.0
Perfomance 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
3.0
Value / Money 
 
3.0

Riot Quest Review

About the reviewer Have been kayaking for 4 years. Own a Pamlico 140 Test environment Calm, Flat Review Performance wise, this is the worst kayak I've tried. I feel guilty for bashing it, and try to be open minded and not Hate any kayaks, but this kayak just did bad for me. It had a good waterline and good bouyancy, but the kayak did not track well, manuver well, and it was unstable. ussually with compact kayaks you lose tracking and speed but it makes up for it in excellent manuvering and stability. It looks nice, but the performance was lacking. And this kayak has no visible oil canning so I think it was just a poor hull design. Conclusion Not great performance wise.

Boats & Boards
Pamlico 140Pamlico 140   September 20, 2008
(Updated: September 20, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Design 
 
4.0
Perfomance 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Value / Money 
 
4.0

Fast and nimble

About the reviewer I have been kayaking for 4 years. I own a Wilderness Systems Pamlico 140. Live in Fort collins, Go to Fort Collins High school. Test environment Mild and relitivley flat, some wind producing mild chop. Review This kayak is a very fast and nimble kayak, capable of going fast and covering lots of distance with little effort. Also, It has a small, snug cockpit and room for lots of gear, and full outfitting. There were some waves, and this kayak doesnt bounce up and down as much as other sea kayaks, such as my Pamlico 140, when in waves. Instead of going over waves, it cuts through them, so while not high in initial stability, it was very high in secondary stability. Even in choppy waters it feel flat. However, Turning requires a large circumfrance and alot of effort. Its a kayak based on Inuit Greenland style designs. Conclusion Best for ocean use.

Boats & Boards
Pamlico 140Pamlico 140   September 19, 2008
(Updated: September 19, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Design 
 
5.0
Perfomance 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Value / Money 
 
5.0

This kayak may surprise you

About the reviewer I have been kayaking open water for 4 years. I am a Fort Collins High school student, and dream of sea kayaking. My fav spot is Horsetooth Res. Test environment Calm, Flatwater Review This is a truley amazing kayak. It is natural to underestimate this kayak. Its only 11' long, so it would be natural to assume it might not be a great tracker or keep up with a longer kayak. But looks can be deceiving. Upon Entry, I was shocked at this kayaks performance. It tracked like it was on rails, decent speed and acceleration. It is an ease to paddle in a straight course, but turns when you command it to and very stable initially. While not as fast as the longer manitous, it has a great blend of all performance aspects and tracked as good. pretty attractive kayak too. Conclusion good for one day flatwater trips. Covers distance well, can hold a straight course.

Boats & Boards
Pamlico 140Pamlico 140   August 24, 2007
(Updated: August 24, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Design 
 
5.0
Perfomance 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Value / Money 
 
4.0

Great kayak

About the reviewer I've been paddling for 4 years. I live in colorado, so only have chances to go paddling on lakes, but my dream is to go sea kayaking. My facorite local spot is horsetooth resivoir, one of the largest bodies of water in colorado, a masive 7 mile long lake, under a mile wide. It can produce rough waters Test environment Mild chop and boat wakes Review The Pamlico 140 is without a doubt, my favorite kayak. Yes, I am a very proud owner of one, and wouldnt trade it for anything. But, this doesnt mean its the boat for you. Thats just my opinion, and you may be seeking another kayak more suited for you. I have paddled this kayak in both calm and choppy waters. This kayak handled Horsetooth very well, witch can produce ocean-like waves and chop from boat wakes since it has high boat traffic. It manuvers very well, as well as excellent initial stability, and decent secondary stability, though not as good as an expedition kayak such as a Looksha V. Acceleration is a bit slow, but once it gets to a good speed, theres no stopping it,...

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
 

Sponsors

Palm

Palm Orbit Rand Shock
See the AUP for our Acceptable Use Policy and a Privacy Statement. Verein Playak is responsible for all editorial content on this site (including all graphics). No part of this site may be duplicated in any way without explicit permission from Verein Playak. Verein Playak takes great care to only publish original content, but since part of the content is user generated, we cannot always guarantee this 100%. If you notice any copyright violations, please let the editors know through the contact form and they will take appropriate action immediately. As a news and information platform, we republish small text snippets and thumbnail images, but always link to original content on other sites, and thus aim to adhere to a 'Fair Use' policy. If you believe we violate this policy in any particular case, please contact us directly and we'll take appropriate action immediately.