Support American Whitewater! Support American Whitewater!

[please login to make this ad block disappear]

TOPIC: Surf Kayak, how to bottom turn?

Surf Kayak, how to bottom turn? 15 years 8 months ago #22594

• AlexFictionFriction
  • Junior Boarder
I do quite a bit of surfing and am finding the amount of moves i can do limited. I can ride the line of the face no problem, bongo slide and perform slashes and 360's at the crest of the wave and at the bottom, on waves up to 6ft. I find 3 to 5 ft waves are easiest to experiment on.B) However i have tried and failed many times to bottom turn, i find myself running the line of the wave and hitting the white stuff when it breaks, if i could bottom turn i could avoid this.

I studied videos on the internet and can see how they do it but need a more detailed impression of how to bottom turn.:(

I paddle a Perception Madness as i find it has sharp edges for surfing.

I find it difficult to get the edges right on the plane and am not sure what approach to take to it. Is it simply a case of edging it and resting the padle on the face for support or is it a low brace turn or dragging the paddle in the face for rotation? :blink: does anyone know how? Please

:)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Surf Kayak, how to bottom turn? 15 years 8 months ago #22599

• AdrianTregoning
  • Thank you received: 8
Check out this thread:

www.soaked.co.za/viewtopic.php?t=247

Hopefully the link helps a little.

By looking at the boat, I would imagine that it is reasonably fast, but not as fast as a proper surf kayak. Do you feel like it just hangs at the bottom of the wave? It could be that the boat just isn't fast enough to actually really bottom turn. If you're at the top of the weight range of the boat, the problem would be worse.