Support American Whitewater! support unicef

[please login to make this ad block disappear]

Reviews written by KayakingNJ

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
 
Boats & Boards
KayakingNJKayakingNJ   July 20, 2008
(Updated: July 20, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Design 
 
4.0
Perfomance 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Value / Money 
 
4.0

The classic RR

About the reviewer Sea & rec kayaking background. Needed something that was to easily support the 210lb weight and perform well for a beginner. I was on the heavy side for the standard RPM but that is a great boat. Test environment Delaware River NJ/PA - Scudder's Falls. Review Ok so I'm definitely a rookie at the WW stuff. Having said that this boat lives up to all the reviews, runs great nice speed and tracking. It can't keep up with the modern playboats but with my limited skill set I can't either! Great boat for river running, larger paddlers and for those of us that probably won't push that envelope that hard. I couldn't find one for months then ended up with 2! Maybe I'll trade one somewhere down the road but for now she's staying with me... Conclusion Great boat for beginner and experienced paddlers. Good for the oversize paddler or someone who wants a little more room.

RPM
Boats & Boards
KayakingNJKayakingNJ   January 01, 2008
(Updated: January 01, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Design 
 
4.0
Perfomance 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Value / Money 
 
4.0

Excellent WW starter

About the reviewer Rec & Sea kayaker, want to start WW again. Short term ownership, too heavy for this model. Test trial only. Review Most has already been written, good starter, easy to roll, paddler needs to be well below the recommended weight range to effectively use it. Conclusion Liked it very much, looking to buy it's big brother the Max.

Boats & Boards
KayakingNJKayakingNJ   January 01, 2008
(Updated: January 01, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Design 
 
4.0
Perfomance 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Value / Money 
 
4.0

Excellent yak, no speed demon but very solid!

About the reviewer Rec & Sea kayaker. Test environment Lakes & bays. Review Very solid boat, not built for speed. Very good primary and secondary stability. Quality materials good outfitting. Very uncomfortable seat as this is an older version before they installed the current seats. I've never felt the need to updgrade or trade this boat as it does the job well. A good all round performer with plenty of storage. Conclusion I made a good choice, this one is staying with me long term.

Boats & Boards
KayakingNJKayakingNJ   January 01, 2008
(Updated: January 01, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Design 
 
5.0
Perfomance 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Value / Money 
 
5.0

Very fast SoT

About the reviewer Rec & Sea kayaker. Test environment Lakes, Streams, Bays. Review Higher center of gravity then sit in style, but no real issue. Very fast, tracks exceptionally well. Plenty of storage space. Add on thigh straps and seat. I don't understand why this yak was discontinued. It's an excellent boat for starters and experienced boaters. Pretty heavy but solid! Conclusion Highly recommended!

Boats & Boards
KayakingNJKayakingNJ   December 05, 2007
(Updated: December 05, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Design 
 
4.0
Perfomance 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
4.0
Value / Money 
 
4.0

Solid Rec boat, slow and easy...

I've been boating (sail, canoe) since 72'. Took up kayaking in 2004 with this boat. Bought it new, great rec boat, plenty of storage, tracks well. Streams and Rivers = A+ Choppy bay with other Sea Kayaks = C- Like it's owner, built for comfort not speed... I've added to the fleet over time but will always keep this one. Its relatively light, works great for casual paddles in lakes, streams, etc when speed is not a concern. I bought it with a rudder but rarely use it. Decided to take a paddling lesson which really helped. I also own a Sea kayak, a SoT and am thinking about trying WW again. I have two adult children that use it and would really be upset if I ever sold or traded it. Highly recommended if used for its designed use, rec kayaking. Oh yea the seat could be a bit more comfortable, I don't have much natural padding.

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
 

Sponsors

Palm

See the AUP for our Acceptable Use Policy and a Privacy Statement. Verein Playak is responsible for all editorial content on this site (including all graphics). No part of this site may be duplicated in any way without explicit permission from Verein Playak. Verein Playak takes great care to only publish original content, but since part of the content is user generated, we cannot always guarantee this 100%. If you notice any copyright violations, please let the editors know through the contact form and they will take appropriate action immediately. As a news and information platform, we republish small text snippets and thumbnail images, but always link to original content on other sites, and thus aim to adhere to a 'Fair Use' policy. If you believe we violate this policy in any particular case, please contact us directly and we'll take appropriate action immediately.