support unicef Support American Whitewater!

[please login to make this ad block disappear]

TOPIC: Good surfing boat

Good surfing boat 17 years 8 months ago #8180

• chadwick
  • Grom Boarder
I'm looking to buy a kayak for surfing waves. I live in Michigan and I've been surfing (or trying) with a dagger crossover for around 3 years now. I'm not too interested at the moment in learning crazy tricks... I just want a boat that will ride waves nice and give me control over where i'm going. I'd like a decently forgiving boat thats not extreamly difficult to roll (i can roll the crossover in under 3 seconds but it a big cylinder).

I'm thinking a used kayak. hoping to spend less then $500. I'm 6' and weigh 130#. I dont really want something extreamly short... kinda thinking in the 7.5 to 9 foot range.

thanks for any help.
Chad
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Good surfing boat 17 years 8 months ago #8191

• VAPaddler1324
  • Gold Boarder
RPM?

Good surfing boat 17 years 8 months ago #8200

• stoneweasel
  • Gold Boarder
If it is soley for surfing that you want a boat then I would strongly recomend a composite surf specific boat.

There should be plenty of the slightly older designs around that will be well within your price range as there have been a lot of new designs recently.

hope this helps,
Denzil

Good surfing boat 17 years 8 months ago #8244

• Urge
  • Guru Boarder
or one of the plastic newtrons from mega. NOt knowing your size its hard to recommend a surf boat as they are all different. Stoneweasel has a composite newtron in fetching gold and silver colour and i believe he has tried the plastic ones so he could comment on those,

i paddle a revenge which is tiny and have tried the maverick which seemed ok if not a bit heavy and very grippy off the tail but the placky boats are cheaper and paddle better than i expected

have a play in a few if you can find one around your area second hand try it for size first

good luck mate