Support American Whitewater! support unicef

[please login to make this ad block disappear]

TOPIC: recommended boat? 6ft, 190lbs, ocean surf, ww

recommended boat? 6ft, 190lbs, ocean surf, ww 17 years 2 months ago #13247

• biffymaroon
  • Grom Boarder
I'm relatively new to whitewater (12 trips) but a strong paddler and living on the ocean. I want to surf the big waves mostly, but have a boat that's also decent for whitewater and flatwater. Can anyone recommend a kayak for me?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:recommended boat? 6ft, 190lbs, ocean surf, ww 17 years 2 months ago #13253

• robmeister
  • Guru Boarder
when you say flatwater, what do you mean? do you mean recreation trips across a lake or a boat that can flatwater carthweel and floop?

Re:recommended boat? 6ft, 190lbs, ocean surf, ww 17 years 2 months ago #13255

• Kayaker0678
  • Guru Boarder
Check out the Dagger Approch and the Enduro

edit: When he said flatwater I assumed he ment no whitewater rivers just floating down the river.

Re:recommended boat? 6ft, 190lbs, ocean surf, ww 17 years 2 months ago #13257

• Urge
  • Guru Boarder
For surfing big waves I think the Approach will be out of its class. try the longer river running playboats around 220 or above anything shorter will be too slow for the waves and general pottering about! could consider

X
Z
EZ series
Inazones
S8
Glide
Session
centrafuge
id
etc my head hurts too much work on my dissatation not enough paddling :(
Im off to pub to recoperate

Re:recommended boat? 6ft, 190lbs, ocean surf, ww 17 years 2 months ago #13258

• Dustyw
  • Grom Boarder
try a dagger juice.....my friends got one and its really fast on a wave and realtively high volume, 60 gallons i think so running rivers would be fine and you could do some playing in holes on the way down the river:D

Re:recommended boat? 6ft, 190lbs, ocean surf, ww 17 years 2 months ago #13285

• robmeister
  • Guru Boarder