Support American Whitewater! Support American Whitewater!

[please login to make this ad block disappear]

TOPIC: Queen Elizabeth II wild Lands Prov. Park Ontario.

Queen Elizabeth II wild Lands Prov. Park Ontario. 11 years 11 months ago #32405

• jedi_jeffi
  • Grom Boarder
Queen Elizabeth II Wild Lands Prov. Park.
April 28 – May 3 2012
This park is north of Toronto and south of algonquin. the only way in is fly or paddle. It is surrounded by private land.
I have been paddling in the area since 1968. It is a great example of Canadian shield. Best time to visit is before bug season (Early May) and after (mid August) but if you can stand the bugs it is still a pretty place to go.

Saturday morning I was on the water by 9:30 am an it was nice and cool with a gentle breeze coming out of the north and even that died off by the time I was half way across. Even though it is a fairly big lake and the ice has been out since Early March there was not a powerboat to be seen or heard. The birds where active and with the clear skies you could easily see the top of the big ridge to the northwest, a very pleasant way to start the trip. As I was paddling up the Head River towards the first portage the wind picked up pretty good out of the north, so timing was perfect.
My adventure this year was to document the hard way into Jordon Lake, which is just south of Victoria. I had gone into Jordon Lake via the Head River Last fall, so I knew the exit was easy and there was a couple of really nice looking camps sites on the Lake. The trouble with Jordon is it’s close proximity to Wolf/Victoria and the plane traffic one would hear during fishing/hunting season, but that would be strictly a day thing and you could be pretty sure of quiet nights.
inlinethumb15.webshots.com/50318/2402755...07541S600x600Q85.jpg