Support American Whitewater! support unicef

[please login to make this ad block disappear]

TOPIC: OK... I'm new.

OK... I'm new. 17 years 8 months ago #8182

• extorted
  • Grom Boarder
I'm new to canoeing and was introduced to it about a year ago. I haven't been since, but a friend of mine reminded me of the trip and all the joy that I had on that trip came back.

I want to buy a canoe. BUT, I have some questions about weight, length, material differences, etc... that I need to answer before I spend the money.

I want a good boat, but not the best. I also don't want a crap shoot. What's a good entry boat length and weight?

Since I'm new at this, I don't have a clue where to start when it comes to the canoes. I found a good priced canoe with these basic specs:
* Impact-resistant RAM-X™ hull
* 2 molded seats with drink and rod holder
* Sturdy center thwart
* Sturdy aluminum gunnels with protective sleeves
* Length: 13 ft 6 in
* Beam: 37 in
* Seats: 2
* Weight: 57 lb
* Max. Capacity: 650 lb

The price is $369 and the type of boat is Pelican Navigator. Is this a horrible canoe?

I love the serenity of flat/open water canoeing and want to get into it. I'd go just about every weekend probably, AND during the work week when I could leave the office at a decent time. Any and all help is GREATLY APPRECIATED. Help a beginner out please.

Thanks!
Mike
The administrator has disabled public write access.

OK... I'm new. 17 years 8 months ago #8183

• taliesin38
  • Guru Boarder
Pelican's are not very nice canoe's. A decent canoe should cost you about 899$ Canadian new. Any less than that and you are gettiing what you paid for. I know that the pelican boats I have seen in Canada I do not think will float if they get full of water. At least that is what the math says on the subject.

OK... I'm new. 17 years 8 months ago #8185

• extorted
  • Grom Boarder
huh, i never even thought about whether or not it would float if full of water.

OK... I'm new. 17 years 8 months ago #8189